Users that start working on the first translation but leave the page may not be aware on how to get back to it. That could happen especially if users get into the translation editor from the beta campaign (T89701) or they are not aware of the auto-save mechanism (assuming the work was lost).
Send a notification when a user leaves the tool with the first translation incomplete. The goal is to (a) inform the translation was saved, (b) make them familiar with the path to retrieve them (i.e, the path through the contributions entry point users may not be aware of), and (c) encourage users to keep translating.
- Text copy: "Your translation for <page-name> was saved. Continue anytime from your contributions page, and publish it when it’s ready."
- Main action (opening the notification): leads to the translation dashboard showing the in-progress view.
- Secondary action: "Your contributions" leads to Special:Contributions
We need to make sure that the notification is sent when there is a high confidence that the user left the draft editing and it is not conflicting with the notification of first-time publishing (e.g., the 1st publish notification replaces it if it was not read)