Page MenuHomePhabricator

Resetting transcode should not delete file until a new one is ready
Open, LowPublic

Description

Currently resetting a transcode deletes the file immediately, then replaces it after the transcode re-runs.

This leaves a "hole" where the reset transcode is simply gone until the new one is done. If the new run fails or takes a long time, then you're out of luck.

The deletion should ideally not happen until the new file is ready -- or if the transcode was invalid/disabled, then immediately at job processing time rather than at queue time.

Event Timeline

brion created this task.Aug 9 2015, 4:10 PM
brion raised the priority of this task from to Needs Triage.
brion updated the task description. (Show Details)
brion added a subscriber: brion.
Restricted Application added subscribers: Matanya, Aklapper. · View Herald TranscriptAug 9 2015, 4:10 PM
Jdforrester-WMF triaged this task as Low priority.Sep 4 2015, 6:55 PM
Jdforrester-WMF moved this task from Untriaged to Backlog on the Multimedia board.Sep 4 2015, 6:59 PM
TheDJ moved this task from To sort to Transcoding on the TimedMediaHandler board.Oct 21 2015, 7:02 PM