Page MenuHomePhabricator

Cannot delete the 'copy' of a Conpherence room created
Closed, DeclinedPublic

Description

While I was trying to create a conpherence room, two rooms were created due to internet issues . Now, any change to one is also reflecting in the other one.
I don't see a method to delete one of the conpherences, and it's getting confusing.

Event Timeline

Ankitashukla raised the priority of this task from to Low.
Ankitashukla updated the task description. (Show Details)
Ankitashukla added a project: Phabricator.
Ankitashukla added a subscriber: Ankitashukla.
Restricted Application added subscribers: scfc, Aklapper. · View Herald TranscriptNov 2 2015, 11:00 AM

Please provide links to testcases.

Z253:
You do not have permission to view this object.
Users with the "Can View" capability:

Ankitashukla (Ankita Shukla) can take this action.
Participants in a room can always view it.

Z252:
You do not have permission to view this object.
Users with the "Can View" capability:

Participants in this room can take this action.
Participants in a room can always view it.
Aklapper lowered the priority of this task from Low to Lowest.EditedJan 12 2016, 11:05 PM

We set Z252 to restricted in the end, and in general for Conpherence rooms one has to be a member (which is intended here). Hence hard to provide a testcase, sorry. :(

Aklapper renamed this task from 'Copy' of a conpherence room created to Cannot delete the 'copy' of a Conpherence room created.Feb 18 2016, 11:09 AM
Aklapper set Security to None.
Restricted Application added a subscriber: TerraCodes. · View Herald TranscriptMay 23 2016, 6:00 PM
epriestley added a subscriber: epriestley.

Administrators with CLI access can bin/remove destroy Zxxx to destroy a Conpherence (or most other types of object).

Broadly, it is intentional (and an explicit design decision) that users can never destroy objects or permanently delete data from the web UI. One goal this serves is limiting the amount of damage an attacker or malicious user can do if they compromise a user's account, so I don't anticipate implementing a "Delete Room" action in the upstream.

(You can leave a room you joined or created by mistake.)

Now, any change to one is also reflecting in the other one.

This is unexpected, and I can't reproduce it.

Aklapper closed this task as Declined.May 22 2019, 12:55 PM

Thanks for the feedback and input!

We currently discuss disabling Conpherence in T127640: Re-evaluate our use of Phabricator Conpherence chat to reduce phragmentation of discussions in the way too many discussion spaces in the Wikimedia universe, so I'm boldly declining this task.