On single edit tab wikis, if your preference is 'remember last editor' and you last used VisualEditor, VisualEditor will load on a "View source" action=edit
Closed, ResolvedPublic1 Story Points

Description

IPs at test2 wiki enter the visual editor by clicking on View Source from the home page (since that links to https://test2.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Main_Page&action=edit ...).

Elitre created this task.Jan 25 2016, 12:18 PM
Elitre updated the task description. (Show Details)
Elitre raised the priority of this task from to Needs Triage.
Elitre added a project: VisualEditor.
Elitre added a subscriber: Elitre.
Restricted Application added subscribers: StudiesWorld, Aklapper. · View Herald TranscriptJan 25 2016, 12:18 PM

was the last editor you used VE?

Yes (and around the "last editor you used" bit, I'm finding a few things which look a bit weird and I'll try to report them separately).

Krenair renamed this task from "View source" tab actually launches the visual editor edit mode on test2.wikipedia.org to On single edit tab wikis, if your preference is 'remember last editor' and you last used VisualEditor, VisualEditor will load on a "View source" action=edit.Jan 25 2016, 12:23 PM
Krenair set Security to None.
Elitre added a comment.EditedJan 25 2016, 1:12 PM

When preference for registered users is "always give me VE", clicking on the switch icon won't actually switch (the wikitext editor is shown for a few seconds, but then the page is still in VEdit mode).

For IPs who have VE as the last used editor, clicking on the switch icon will lead them to the the actual "View source for Main Page", which sets WT as the last editor for them with no ability to switch back, since the toolbar isn't loaded in this case (so I guess this could be generalized to "which kind of loading checks happen for protected pages", or something).

When preference for registered users is "always give me VE", clicking on the switch icon won't actually switch (the wikitext editor is shown for a few seconds, but then the page is still in VEdit mode).

That's T124316: On single edit tab wikis: Switching from VE to the wikitext editor (discarding changes) while having "always give me the visual editor" as your preference causes VE to load up again.

Except for the (discarding changes) bit.

Except for the (discarding changes) bit.

You made it happen with 'keep changes'? Or you weren't prompted to choose between keeping and discarding because you made no edits, and therefore the discard process was used regardless?

The latter AFAIK.

Krenair claimed this task.Jan 26 2016, 4:38 PM

Change 266522 had a related patch set uploaded (by Alex Monk):
Check user permissions for viewsource before loading VE on-load on action=edit/submit etc.

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/266522

Jdforrester-WMF closed this task as Resolved.Jan 26 2016, 4:52 PM
Jdforrester-WMF triaged this task as High priority.
Jdforrester-WMF edited a custom field.

Change 266522 merged by jenkins-bot:
Check user permissions for viewsource before loading VE on-load on action=edit/submit etc.

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/266522