Page MenuHomePhabricator

Reload page when you delete a draft on ContentTranslation
Closed, DeclinedPublic

Description

At the moment, someone who delete a draft on ContentTranslation will still have the draft on the drafts list. Is it possible to reload the page or something else to hide that deleted content.

Event Timeline

Restricted Application added a subscriber: Aklapper. · View Herald TranscriptApr 3 2016, 7:13 AM

It's easy to implement if needed—not to refresh, but to simply remove it immediately. The current behavior, however, is by design—it shows the deleted translation as grayed out to indicate that it's on the way to disappear. I'm sure that @Pginer-WMF has a more detailed explanation for it.

IIRC, we didn't have that grayed background during the workshop. That may have been a trick due to the video projection.

Feel free to close that task :)

The design idea was to apply the "undo" pattern: as soon as the user clicks on "delete", without further confirmation, show the item as deleted (lighter) with the options to undo, or clear the item.

Since the "undo" behaviour was complex, the first iteration added a confirmation step.

If there are no plans to support the "undo" pattern in the short term (which I understand given it's not a common action and there are other design details to polish that happen more frequently: T127695), it may be better to have the item fade away (with a transition like T120067) after the user confirms the deletion.

Trizek-WMF closed this task as Declined.Apr 11 2016, 9:48 AM

I can't agree more about having a fade away.

There is no need to reload, because of that fade. I don't see more reasons to have that task open.