Page MenuHomePhabricator

[Task] Do not show message "Wikibase-after-page-move" if the user do not need to edit Wikidata manually
Closed, ResolvedPublic

Description

Isn't the Wikibase item updated automatically after page moves nowadays?
We got a report from @GoEThe on ptwiki that users are still warned to update Wikidata once the page is moved. From MediaWiki:Wikibase-after-page-move:

You may also [$1 update] the associated Wikidata item to maintain language links on moved page.

I believe the message is not appropriated in this cases and should be replaced by something more relevant. E.g.:

The associated Wikidata item was [$1 updated] to maintain language links on moved page.

For now, we replaced the local translation on ptwiki by an empty string.

See also T67216: Wikidata item sometimes not updated after moving on wiki.

Event Timeline

He7d3r created this task.Apr 23 2016, 8:27 PM
Restricted Application added a subscriber: Aklapper. · View Herald TranscriptApr 23 2016, 8:27 PM
Lydia_Pintscher renamed this task from Remove outdated message "Wikibase-after-page-move" to [Task] Remove outdated message "Wikibase-after-page-move".Apr 25 2016, 10:03 AM
Lydia_Pintscher triaged this task as Low priority.
Lydia_Pintscher moved this task from incoming to ready to go on the Wikidata board.
Restricted Application added a subscriber: TerraCodes. · View Herald TranscriptApr 25 2016, 10:03 AM
xSavitar claimed this task.Apr 29 2016, 8:06 PM

Change 286213 had a related patch set uploaded (by D3r1ck01):
i18n wikibase-after-page-move removed

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/286213

The patch I submitted just removes only the i18n message. But after doing a grep on the Wikibase repo, I found other instances on the message. There is a phpunit test for it and also found in Hooks, if its not necessary, I can remove it. @Lydia_Pintscher, what do you say about this?

What if there's no SUL between the repo and the client? How does the autoupdate work?

If it is still used in the code then we should keep it. I had assumed this was already checked.

@Ricordisamoa I believe in this case no update is done.

He7d3r added a comment.May 3 2016, 8:27 PM

What if there's no SUL between the repo and the client? How does the autoupdate work?

And in that case, shouldn't it use different messages depending on the config?

Change 286213 abandoned by Thiemo Mättig (WMDE):
i18n wikibase-after-page-move removed

Reason:
See T133470.

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/286213

I believe this tickets description is misleading. One can not simply "remove" a message. It's shown for a reason and will always be needed for installations that do not update the repo automatically when a page on a client is moved.

When I look at the code in UpdateRepoHookHandlers::doTitleMoveComplete (see https://phabricator.wikimedia.org/diffusion/EWBA/browse/master/client/includes/Hooks/UpdateRepoHookHandlers.php;554ea0e6b343d08dc58de4b0b2dc2096b6abc6af$257 and https://phabricator.wikimedia.org/diffusion/EWBA/browse/master/client/includes/Hooks/MovePageNotice.php;554ea0e6b343d08dc58de4b0b2dc2096b6abc6af$153) the message in question will be displayed when the MediaWiki job queue does not accept our request. There is not much we can do in this case other than telling the user exactly that: please update the Wikidata item manually.

So without a way to reproduce this or an idea how to avoid the situation I suggest to close this ticket.

xSavitar removed xSavitar as the assignee of this task.May 5 2016, 1:29 AM
xSavitar added a subscriber: xSavitar.
He7d3r renamed this task from [Task] Remove outdated message "Wikibase-after-page-move" to [Task] Do not show message "Wikibase-after-page-move" if the user do not need to edit Wikidata manually.May 9 2016, 3:16 AM
He7d3r updated the task description. (Show Details)

Is it better now?

Nothing changed. As I tried to explain, the message is shown when there is something wrong with the MediaWiki job queue. The user should be aware of this situation. Overriding a message in a local wiki (one of many hundreds) is a very, very bad hack, for many reasons. Please do not do this.

In that case it should be more explicit about the fact that some error occurred, and strongly suggest the user to update the links (the phrase "You may also update" makes it look like this is not necessary, when in fact if the user does not make the update, the software won't make it either).

Change 290206 had a related patch set uploaded (by Thiemo Mättig (WMDE)):
Update client/repo messages with the vague word "may"

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/290206

Change 290206 merged by jenkins-bot:
Update client/repo messages with the vague word "may"

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/290206

hoo closed this task as Resolved.Aug 24 2016, 9:03 PM
hoo claimed this task.
hoo added a subscriber: hoo.

As far as I can tell, this is done now.