Currently, if 'Highlight results' button is pressed, it keeps the active state (dark blue) after 'Restore default filters' is clicked.
I think the answer is no. Even if the restore actions resets the colors used in highlighting, I think it is better to not override the user decision of having the highlighting tools available.
The reset is about the filters data, not about the tools the user has picked to manipulate that data. We are not considering closing the highlight options if the user manually removes al tags and adds the default after it. The "trash" and "restore" actions are doing just that.