Page MenuHomePhabricator

More aggressively purge cache when features are created
Closed, ResolvedPublic

Description

When a hub feature is created, there are two steps: (a) creating the subpage and (b) "transcluding" it on the hub. However, because the second step happens first, the cache is saved referring to a non-existent subpage, with a subpage created immediately after. This leads to a confusing interface.

Since users can do step (b) by hand and *then* create the feature, I think the system should consistently purge cache when new features are created to avoid the confusion.

Event Timeline

Harej created this task.Mar 20 2017, 5:08 AM
Restricted Application added a subscriber: Aklapper. · View Herald TranscriptMar 20 2017, 5:08 AM
Isarra added a subscriber: Isarra.Mar 20 2017, 9:06 PM

PURGE AFTER KTHNXBAI.

Harej added a comment.Mar 20 2017, 9:10 PM

Consensus from discussion on IRC:

  • We reverse the order in which the edits are made. This is a very straightforward solution that is a good idea no matter what.
  • We add a cache purge link in the header as a failsafe.

Change 343801 had a related patch set uploaded (by Harej):
[mediawiki/extensions/CollaborationKit] Switching hub feature edit order and adding purge button

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/343801

Change 343801 merged by jenkins-bot:
[mediawiki/extensions/CollaborationKit@master] Switching hub feature edit order and adding purge button

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/343801

Harej closed this task as Resolved.Apr 27 2017, 7:34 AM
Harej added a subscriber: Catrope.

Noting for posterity: This patch also fixed T160937, which was caused by Spam Blacklist not being able to parse the non-existent members subpage, transcluded on the hub, before the hub was saved. (Filtering against spam blacklist happens after the save button is pressed but before the page is saved.) Thank you to @Catrope for identifying this.