Page MenuHomePhabricator

If you delete an account with user merge and delete - merging to Anonoymous, the user creation log shows it as if you're creating an IP
Open, Needs TriagePublic

Description

[Note, this was on a wiki using a somewhat old version of software]

I had a test account I wanted to delete. I went to user merge and delete, selected the delete checkbox and left target blank. I selected ok to merge to Anonoymous.

Now in RC there is:
> (User creation log) . . User account <IP address here> (Talk | block) was created by Wiki Sysop (Talk | contribs | block)

This is kind of surprising behavior to me.

Event Timeline

Bawolff created this task.Jun 19 2017, 2:57 PM
Restricted Application added a subscriber: Aklapper. · View Herald TranscriptJun 19 2017, 2:57 PM

Was it your IP address? Probably a bug with user_id = 0 and $wgUser defaulting to the current viewing IP address.

The bug is still in UserMerge, I mean.

Yes it was my ip.

I had created the account 5 minutes prior, so its unclear if it was the ip address at time of account creation or ip address at time of user deletion (i think the latter is more likely but i dont know for sure)