Page MenuHomePhabricator

Cannot set my default to see all results (no filters)
Closed, ResolvedPublic

Description

I would like to see all changes by default when I go to Special:RC.

The current default is: human, page edits, new pages, logs. When I remove them all, the "save filters" button disappears.

Details

Related Gerrit Patches:

Event Timeline

SBisson created this task.Aug 3 2017, 2:00 PM
Restricted Application added a subscriber: Aklapper. · View Herald TranscriptAug 3 2017, 2:00 PM

Of course I can do it by using a "no effect" filter combination or any number of highlights but I'm gaming the system.

Change 377932 had a related patch set uploaded (by Mooeypoo; owner: Mooeypoo):
[mediawiki/core@master] RCFilters: Allow empty saved query

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/377932

The patch above works well but it creates a weird situation: when you save the empty state as your default filter, the "Restore default filters" button is visible even though you currently have your default filters.

Mooeypoo added a comment.EditedSep 14 2017, 9:42 PM

The patch above works well but it creates a weird situation: when you save the empty state as your default filter, the "Restore default filters" button is visible even though you currently have your default filters.

Ha, good point. Fixing to what makes sense -- nothing. That is, neither 'default filters' nor 'reset' make sense here, because you already have defaults that are reset.

I'll hide both options (so, no 'reset' button will show in this case, nor a 'reset to defaults'), but @Pginer-WMF should verify this decision.

The patch above works well but it creates a weird situation: when you save the empty state as your default filter, the "Restore default filters" button is visible even though you currently have your default filters.

There was actually a bug in "areDefaultFiltersEmpty" that always returned null (!!) -- it's fixed in the new patchset, and fixes that problem as well.

Change 377932 merged by jenkins-bot:
[mediawiki/core@master] RCFilters: Allow empty saved query

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/377932

Checked in betalabs

  • 'All active filters. All contributions are shown.' can be saved as a filter - it can be renamed, set as a default, or removed, just as usual filters.

@Mooeypoo - it seems that 'Restore default filters' is lost entirely.

  1. Load Recent Changes page - the page displays the initial defaults.
  2. Discard them via the trash bin - 'Restore default filters' does not appear.

Or set up any filter(s) as your default - dismiss it, no 'Restore default filters' will be displayed.

@Pginer-WMF - your input is needed.
Are we treating 'All active filters. All contributions are shown.' state as a normal filter? It seems to me that we should differentiate between between discarding all filters and displaying 'All active filters. All contributions are shown.' as a filter.

If so

  • why I cannot dismiss it? The trash bin icon is missing
  • Every time I dismiss a filter (s), the 'All active filters. All contributions are shown.' with the saved name displayed.
  • If 'All active filters. All contributions are shown.' is set as default filter, there will be no 'Restore default filters' displayed, of course.

Change 378755 had a related patch set uploaded (by Mooeypoo; owner: Mooeypoo):
[mediawiki/core@master] RCFilters: Actually check whether defaults are empty and update state

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/378755

Bringing back to 'needs review' with the new fix.

Change 378755 merged by jenkins-bot:
[mediawiki/core@master] RCFilters: Actually check whether defaults are empty and update state

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/378755

@Pginer-WMF - your input is needed.

The usecase seems a bit of an edge case to me since the access to all filters is just one click away through the trashcan icon. The concept of saved filters may be easier to understand if there are some filters involved, but I'd expect that users would only get to this situation if they actually want to keep access to all unfiltered contributions.
If we want to support this, the proposed changes (e.g., removing the "restore default filters") make the behaviour consistent, and work as expected in the beta servers.

Thanks, @Pginer-WMF
Checked in betalabs. It seems to me that it works quite logically:

  • "No active filters. All contributions are shown." if saved as a default filter won't have the trash bin icon to dismiss it. That indicates that it's a special case. The user is prompted to either select another saved filter from Saved or start selecting from the Filter menu.
  • "No active filters. All contributions are shown." is saved not as a default. It won't have the trash bin icon to dismiss it either, but will have "Restore default filters".
Etonkovidova closed this task as Resolved.Sep 19 2017, 4:01 PM
Etonkovidova triaged this task as Medium priority.