Per T167311, reading lists are completely removed from the server when sync is disabled; but it is currently ambiguously worded in Settings whether turning off sync only disables it on one device or whether it turns it off across the entire account (the correct behavior).
Part (i) Update the sync setting text strings to clarify this account setting behavior.
|Title||Sync reading lists for this account|
|Description||Allow Wikimedia to sync reading lists to your Wikipedia account <username if logged in>|
|Warning dialog when turning off sync - title||none||Remove synced reading lists from your account <username if logged in>?|
|Warning dialog when turning off sync - text||This will delete any previously synced reading lists from remote storage. Proceed?||This will completely delete all previously synced reading lists from remote storage. Remove all synced lists from your account <username if logged in>?|
Part (ii) Add a toast message across all other logged in sessions advising when sync has been disabled on one device.
When a user turns OFF syncing on one of their devices, the next time they open another device where they are logged in, there should be a notification advising that sync has been turned off for the account.
Proposed message - dialog:
|Title||Reading list sync turned off|
|Message||Reading list sync is off for your account, and saved articles on your logged in devices are no longer being backed up. Turn on reading list sync in Settings.|
|CTA 1||OK dismisses dialog|
|CTA 2||SETTINGS goes to the app settings|
Scenario: User logged in to multiple devices disables syncing from *one* device
Pre-requisite: User is logged in on two devices with sync active on both
- On device #1, go to settings and disable syncing
- Open device #2.
- User creates a new reading list "Delta" with some articles on device #2.
- Go to Settings and re-enable sync on device #2
- Return to device #1 where sync should now be active again
- In step 2, the message that sync is no longer active is shown to the user upon opening the app.
-In step 2, device #2 should still show all the saved reading lists since it is still locally stored, but the server will have deleted all reading list items.
-In step 4, device #1 should sync with the same reading list content as what is on device #2, including the new "Delta" list