Provided you are not changing revision, we don't have to fully reload the page, and can use the VE dialog for continue/discard. This has the benefit of discarding auto-saved changes if you hit discard (which we can't do with the system beforeUnload popup).
- Mentioned In
- T189576: [Epic] Do not "recover" edits that were intentionally abandoned (in the visual and 2017 wikitext editors)
T57370: [Epic] VisualEditor: Implement some form of auto-save to help with browser crash recovery and accidental tab closing
T189337: Visual Editor: "Changes recovered: Your unsaved changes have been automatically recovered." - creates edit conflicts that are NOT detected and allows subsequent edits to be lost!