Page MenuHomePhabricator

Starting a new translation is loading contents from a previously deleted one
Open, NormalPublic

Description

Trying to start from scratch a translation shows the contents of a previous translation draft that was saved before.

This happened when translating "Nasothek" from English to Spanish in the CX2 test server for the user "Pau". Later I could reproduce the same issue for "Paneer", by publishing a translation, deleting it and starting another one.

We may want to investigate what went wrong and make our process for saving/deleting/restoring more solid.

The issue is captured below:


Additional actions:

Event Timeline

Restricted Application added a subscriber: Aklapper. · View Herald TranscriptApr 12 2018, 10:04 AM
Pginer-WMF triaged this task as Normal priority.Apr 12 2018, 10:04 AM
Pginer-WMF updated the task description. (Show Details)Apr 12 2018, 2:15 PM

@Pginer-WMF A possible scenario:

  1. You published it once
  2. Did some changes later and now status is draft
  3. Deleted that translation from dashboard
  4. Used the same language pair and title for starting from scratch. Used CX Source selector.
  5. Translation loads with your old translated content

This was intentional as per T123902: If the translation in progress was once published, deleting it should move it to published status
Please confirm whether the case you pointed out is matching with this or not
Or should we revisit T123902

This was intentional as per T123902: If the translation in progress was once published, deleting it should move it to published status
Please confirm whether the case you pointed out is matching with this or not
Or should we revisit T123902

It matches the scenario, and it may need some adjustments. In the scenario you described (using the "new translation" button), I'd expect to start with a fresh translation.

That should be compatible with the following behaviour that we want to keep:

  • When removing an in-progress translation that you published, it should still remain in the published list.
  • From the published list, clicking on the pencil icon ("continue translation"), will continue the existing translation draft.

@Pginer-WMF Our data model does not support this. There can only be one draft per (user, source title, source language, target language) in the data model. If you want to allow translating a published draft again from scratch, we would need to throw the old draft away from the database and translation memory dumps or make changes to our data model.

@Pginer-WMF Our data model does not support this...

Thanks for the details @Nikerabbit. Given the added complexity, I think we can move this ticket to the general backlog, and focus on other tickets more central to the new translation editor for now. I think it makes sense to reconsider this ticket when we plan for the work on allowing multiple users to work on the same translation (T86151) which may also require changes in our data model.

This issue was mentioned by a translator in this conversation.

Pginer-WMF updated the task description. (Show Details)Oct 16 2018, 7:57 AM

Can we have a way to delete old drafts?