Page MenuHomePhabricator

Change wording in the description of the coloumns (No. 3)
Closed, ResolvedPublic

Description

Motivation
When matching the colomns of the edit conflict with the user, we currently said: "Your version, saved November xy 2018..." This is a confusing wording as the current version is not saved.

task

  • Change the wording to Your version, not saved November..."

Event Timeline

Lea_WMDE changed the task status from Open to Stalled.May 28 2018, 8:45 AM
Lea_WMDE triaged this task as Normal priority.
Lea_WMDE updated the task description. (Show Details)

I'm finding it startling to read the "not saved" part at this position. In my opinion, "Your version, not saved November..." makes the info that the text isn't saved more prominent than it needs to be.
How about "Your version, November 29th 2017, 11:46 (not saved)"?

@Lea_WMDE

I think I'd put it next to Your version instead, I feel like that makes a bit more sense then the date and time.

Your Version (not saved)
November xy 2018

That would also work for me.

Somewhere else we had also discussed using "Their version, saved on XXYYAA" as usual, and "Your version, from XXYYBB", because @Hanna_Petruschat_WMDE did not like the "cold" feeling of not saved: Feedback for the very old tool showed that people are mostly afraid everything they just wrote is gone when seeing an edit conflict. How would you feel about that?

Agreed:

  • "pre-saved" indicates it is saved in some way, which it isn't.
  • "not saved" might worry people (even though they can still see the text on the page).
  • *"from XXYYBB" sounds like the best option to me.
Aklapper renamed this task from Change wordig in the description of the coloumns (No. 3) to Change wording in the description of the coloumns (No. 3).Jun 28 2018, 2:29 PM

I agree, but I also think that "not saved" is more clear. "your version..." does not convey that the other version is saved, and yours isn't unless you compare the time which is not written in a way that makes it super easy to do. So it's important to convey that if you cancel everything now, your edits will be lost, because they're not saved anywhere.

Is there a way (of which I can't think right now) to make it more clear that your version is floating in the air until it gets merged by the user and will not be saved otherwise? I know it's scary but it's scary because it IS scary, and the solution is not to not scare but to provide a clear path to how to resolve it, so it's not scary anymore, instead of providing a false sense of security.

Maybe the wording can be better or the times should be placed/written in a way that makes it clear at a glance that the current version is not your own and what the consequences of that are, and how to resolve it.

I hope this is helpful in some way, even though I didn't provide a specific solution.

Vvjjkkii renamed this task from Change wording in the description of the coloumns (No. 3) to r6baaaaaaa.Jul 1 2018, 1:07 AM
Vvjjkkii changed the task status from Stalled to Open.
Vvjjkkii raised the priority of this task from Normal to High.
Vvjjkkii updated the task description. (Show Details)
Vvjjkkii removed a subscriber: Aklapper.
CommunityTechBot renamed this task from r6baaaaaaa to Change wording in the description of the coloumns (No. 3).Jul 2 2018, 3:42 AM
CommunityTechBot changed the task status from Open to Stalled.
CommunityTechBot lowered the priority of this task from High to Normal.
CommunityTechBot updated the task description. (Show Details)
CommunityTechBot added a subscriber: Aklapper.
Lea_WMDE closed this task as Resolved.Aug 3 2018, 7:19 AM