Page MenuHomePhabricator

Navigation between sections in Special:UpdateProfile doesn't save changes (nor warns about this)
Open, Needs TriagePublic

Description

Special:UpdateProfile looks similar to Special:Preferences where the information is presented in several tabs/sections. However, when you navigate between sections, one would expect (unless otherwise stated) the information to remain "in memory" until you save the changes. However, navigating to other section actually is navigating to another page and the information you entered, unless saved, is lost.

It would be good to at least watch if the user did a change after saving, and pop up a warning when the user wants to navigate to other sections that the current modifications will be lost unless saved.

This is a minor UX issue.

Event Timeline

Restricted Application added a project: Social-Tools. · View Herald TranscriptAug 20 2018, 2:30 PM

Change 455358 had a related patch set uploaded (by Jack Phoenix; owner: Jack Phoenix):
[mediawiki/extensions/SocialProfile@master] [WIP/DNM] Nag the user when they try to navigate to a subpage of [[Special:UpdateProfile]] without saving changes

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/455358