In order to increase the visibility of version 2 of Content Translation for users to try, a switch was added to the translation dashboard (T194387). In addition, an invite with more details can (a) clarify what is the new version, and (b) help user to discover it.
This ticket proposes to show an invite for users to try version 2. This is similar to a previous invite that was shown to ask interested users to participate in relevant research (T194467). However the proposed invite has some particularities to consider:
- Shown on all dashboard views, for all languages. Unlike the previous invite that was shown only on the "Suggestions" view for a specific set of languages, the new invite will be shown on top of the "suggestions", "in-progress" and "published" lists in their corresponding views, regardless of the languages the user has selected.
- Ask only until the user makes a choice. We want the invite to be visible until the user selects one of the actions to either enable it or discard the message. In any case, once the user selected one of those actions, the invite will disappear and won't be shown again in the future, even in other wikis (this may require the use of Global preferences APIs).
- Don't show for users that have already version 2 enabled. If the user has version 2 already enabled, or the user enables it using the switch, it does not make sense to show the invite since the user is aware of the new version already.
- Remove previous invite for research. We don't want several invites to show at the top of dashboard lists. This invite replaces the previous one that was shown to potential participants for a research study which needs to be removed (or transformed into the new one, whatever is easier).
New version available. Try the new version for a more solid editing experience, and share your feedback. You can switch versions anytime to decide which version to use for a new translation.
- "Learn more" points to a documentation page about the new version. Opening in a new tab/window, but not making the invite to disappear.
- "Enable the new version" enables version 2 as the default in the same way that clicking on the "Try the new version" switch (T194387) would do. The invite will disappear and not shown again for the user.
- "No, thanks" Hides the invite for the user.