Page MenuHomePhabricator

TwoColConflict gives no warning if closing the tab or using browser back button
Open, Needs TriagePublic3 Estimate Story Points

Description

If you edit an article and have changed anything and close the Browser-Window/Tab or click the "cancel"-button a warning that you will lose your edit will be displayed.

This should also be the case for TwoColConflict-Pages.

It seems that the "Cancel" button correctly prompts for unsaved changes, and after you've done that, closing the tab also correctly prompts. The bug only appears if you close the tab before clicking any of the controls.

Event Timeline

Restricted Application added a project: TCB-Team. · View Herald TranscriptOct 16 2018, 11:47 AM
Restricted Application added a subscriber: Aklapper. · View Herald Transcript

Note: maybe this is already the case but just not for the simulation-page!?

awight reopened this task as Open.Fri, Feb 14, 9:54 AM
awight added a subscriber: awight.

I'm unmerging this bug, because I found it's still an outstanding issue, and both conceptually and functionally different from the other task.

Steps to reproduce:

  • Cause an edit conflict.
  • Do nothing at all on the conflict page.
  • Close the tab.

This will silently lose your edits. Reopening the page even with Visual Editor will not restore your work.

awight renamed this task from No warning if closing the tab or clicking cancle in TwoColConflict to No warning if closing the tab or clicking cancel in TwoColConflict.Fri, Feb 14, 9:57 AM
awight updated the task description. (Show Details)
awight updated the task description. (Show Details)Fri, Feb 14, 10:02 AM

I think this can be solved by setting the unsaved changes flag immediately upon entering the page.

awight renamed this task from No warning if closing the tab or clicking cancel in TwoColConflict to TwoColConflict gives no warning if closing the tab or using browser back button.Fri, Feb 14, 10:22 AM
thiemowmde set the point value for this task to 3.