Page MenuHomePhabricator

Add levels of hiding similar to revision deletion
Closed, DeclinedPublic

Description

Author: mike.lifeguard+bugs

Description:
Currently, centralauth can only hide users, or not. We'd like to be able to set whether admins can see these, or hide from everyone, just like with revision deletion. This would presumably impact several other bugs relating to hiding users. Since Aaron did revision deletion, he may have some clues for this request as well.


Version: unspecified
Severity: normal

Details

Reference
bz18723

Event Timeline

bzimport raised the priority of this task from to Low.Nov 21 2014, 10:34 PM
bzimport set Reference to bz18723.
bzimport added a subscriber: Unknown Object (MLST).
bzimport created this task.May 9 2009, 12:50 AM

quentinv57 wrote:

Closing the bug, as now stewards have the choice between simply hiding a user from public lists and oversighting it completely. Hope that's what you meant.

quentinv57 wrote:

Reopened.

Apparently I'm wrong on Comment #1.

Now the account can be :

  • viewable from everybody
  • hidden from public lists (don't know what that clearly implies)
  • completely oversighted

What I think Mike meant was to add some new possibility here to hide the users at an admin-only level, which is not the [hide from public lists]. Hope I'm true.

In T20723#225984, quentinv57 wrote:
  • hidden from public lists (don't know what that clearly implies)

It means that the account can no longer be viewed at Special:GlobalUsers. It differs on global account suppression that global account hidding logs the action in the suppress log and hids the user on the Special:GlobalUsers page, but does nothing more (if it's also locked, the account won't be able to login as you know). Suppression will do the above plus going wiki and will locally block the account with hideuser flag enabled, making the user virtually "dissapear" from logs and histories.

What I think Mike meant was to add some new possibility here to hide the users at an admin-only level, which is not the [hide from public lists]. Hope I'm true.

Yes, I think that's also what he meant. This bug proposes that when we lock + hid an account, CentralAuth should also set local blocks only visible to administrators (that is, revision-deleted local entries).

However I'm not sure of its current usefulness. Deletion and blocking policies are a matter of local wikis, and unless the user is abusive block logs should not be hidden. If the account name is abusive enough to fall under criterion #4 of the OS policy, then we or local oversighters will suppress the account entirely for everyone.

Suggest declining.

Restricted Application added a subscriber: Aklapper. · View Herald TranscriptSep 19 2015, 4:48 PM
Meno25 removed a subscriber: Meno25.Feb 19 2016, 5:52 PM
Restricted Application added a subscriber: JEumerus. · View Herald TranscriptFeb 19 2016, 5:52 PM
Matanya closed this task as Declined.Apr 19 2017, 8:32 PM
Matanya added a subscriber: Matanya.

This will not be useful nowadays.