Page MenuHomePhabricator

Moving deleted edits while keeping them deleted
Open, Needs TriagePublic

Description

Status: enhancement

Often at the same page name there are visible edits and deleted edits. Sometimes when engaged on history-merging and similar jobs, as a preliminary I have had to temporarily delete some of the visible edits. As a result, first I have had to shift aside the pre-existing deleted edits to another page name, to avoid a mix-up. That currently needs me to do this:

  • Move page A to page X, not leaving a redirect; that moves all the visible edits and leaves the deleted edits where they were.
  • Undelete page A's deleted edits.
  • Move page A to page B, not leaving a redirect.
  • Delete B if due to their contents those edits should be deleted.
  • Move page X back to A, not leaving a redirect.

    It would be easier if I could move all or some of A's deleted edits to another page name while keeping them deleted.

Or if I could undelete all or some of A's deleted edits and at the same time move them to another page name rather than getting mixed with A's pre-existing visible edits.

A history display of deleted edits already has a column of small clickables, one per edit; this column could also be used to select deleted edits to move.
That column of clickables should have controls for "unmark all" and "invert the selection". (Selective undeleting already has an "invert the selection" feature.)

Event Timeline

Restricted Application added a subscriber: Aklapper. · View Herald TranscriptJan 12 2019, 10:04 AM
Aklapper changed the task status from Open to Stalled.Jan 12 2019, 11:12 AM
Aklapper added a subscriber: Liuxinyu970226.

@Liuxinyu970226: How it this related to deletion of entire pages? The task talks about edits only?

Hi @Anthony_Appleyard, where to see a "history display of deleted edits"? What does "from under a non-deleted edit history" mean? Can you provide a specific example article where this would be helpful, and point out which exact edits you would move from where to where? How do you currently "move the non-deleted edit history to another name" and "later back"? Please add a more complete description to this report: Clear list of specific steps to reproduce the situation, as little details sometimes matter, so that nobody needs to guess which exact situation you face, describing actual results and expected results after performing the steps to reproduce.
You can edit the task description by clicking Edit Task. Thanks!

Aklapper changed the task status from Stalled to Open.Jan 12 2019, 2:31 PM
Anthony_Appleyard updated the task description. (Show Details)
Setian added a subscriber: Setian.EditedFeb 27 2019, 5:34 AM

@Anthony_Appleyard So if logged actions are being taken to move archived revisions from one page title to another, what log would these entries be filed under? Move log? Deletion log?

@Anthony_Appleyard So if logged actions are being taken to move archived revisions from one page title to another, what log would these entries be filed under? Move log? Deletion log?

Maybe move/deletedrev?

See also T23312: Request for feature: RevisionMove - this should probably be merged, with a clarification that admins should also be able to move deleted revisions