Page MenuHomePhabricator

Fileexporter should warn while exporting a file that was previously deleted
Open, Needs TriagePublic

Description

I noticed that files imported with the full history (and logs) might sometimes mislead users and even lead to ping-pong scenario:

  • transfer to Commons
  • delete by a Commons admin
  • transfer to Commons
  • delete by a Commons admin

...
The reason is that "raw" exported file often does not contain all information (source/author/license) required in Wikimedia Commons and the exporting user should review the information manually.

So I suggest that Fileexporter should warn the exporting user when the exported file has already been deleted from Commons (maybe presenting the deletion log entry to the user)

Event Timeline

Ankry created this task.Jan 21 2019, 10:31 AM
Restricted Application added a subscriber: Aklapper. · View Herald TranscriptJan 21 2019, 10:31 AM
Restricted Application added a project: TCB-Team. · View Herald TranscriptJan 21 2019, 10:46 AM