Page MenuHomePhabricator

1.34.0-wmf.5 deployment blockers
Closed, ResolvedPublicRelease

Description

| Report error |

Tuesday: branch cut pairing with @LarsWirzenius. Should be around noon UTC.

Wednesday: deploy during the American morning window:

19:00–21:00 UTC
12:00–14:00 PDT
21:00–23:00 UTC+2

Thursday: deploy during European window

13:00–15:00 UTC
06:00–08:00 PDT
15:00–17:00 UTC+2

Details

Release Version
1.34.0-wmf.5
Release Date
1557705600

2019 week 20 1.34-wmf.5 Changes wmf/1.34.0-wmf.5

This MediaWiki Train Deployment is scheduled for the week of Monday, May 13th:

Monday May 13thTuesday, May 14thWednesday, May 15thThursday, May 16thFriday
SWAT deployments only.Branch wmf.5 and deploy to Group 0 Wikis.Deploy wmf.5 to Group 1 Wikis.Deploy wmf.5 to all Wikis.No deployments on fridays

How this works

  • Any serious bugs affecting wmf.5 should be added as subtasks beneath this one.
  • Any open subtask(s) block the train from moving forward.This means no further deployments until the blockers are resolved.
  • If something is serious enough to warrant a rollback then you should bring it to the attention of deployers on the #wikimedia-operations IRC channel.
  • For more info about deployment blockers, see Holding the train.

Related Links

Other Deployments

Previous: 1.34.0-wmf.4
Next: 1.34.0-wmf.6

Event Timeline

mmodell created this task.Apr 11 2019, 6:14 PM
Restricted Application added a subscriber: Aklapper. · View Herald TranscriptApr 11 2019, 6:14 PM
mmodell assigned this task to hashar.Apr 11 2019, 6:46 PM
mmodell triaged this task as Normal priority.Apr 11 2019, 7:11 PM

I might pair this one with @LarsWirzenius if there is any interest. And probably check to shift it to an earlier time which better accommodate European timezone :-]

hashar updated the task description. (Show Details)May 6 2019, 2:33 PM

Mentioned in SAL (#wikimedia-operations) [2019-05-14T10:58:46Z] <hashar> scap prep 1.34.0-wmf.5 # T220730

Change 510129 had a related patch set uploaded (by Hashar; owner: Hashar):
[operations/mediawiki-config@master] Group 0 to 1.34.0-wmf.5

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/510129

Mentioned in SAL (#wikimedia-operations) [2019-05-14T11:09:47Z] <hashar> Deleting 1.33.0-wmf.23 from deploy1001 # T220730

Mentioned in SAL (#wikimedia-operations) [2019-05-14T11:29:59Z] <hashar> Deleting 1.33.0-wmf.24 from deploy1001 # T220730

Change 510129 merged by jenkins-bot:
[operations/mediawiki-config@master] Group 0 to 1.34.0-wmf.5

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/510129

Change 510158 had a related patch set uploaded (by Hashar; owner: Hashar):
[operations/mediawiki-config@master] Group 0 to 1.34.0-wmf.5

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/510158

Change 510158 merged by jenkins-bot:
[operations/mediawiki-config@master] Group 0 to 1.34.0-wmf.5

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/510158

hashar updated the task description. (Show Details)May 14 2019, 6:36 PM

Mentioned in SAL (#wikimedia-operations) [2019-05-15T19:41:58Z] <hashar> group 1 promoted to 1.34.0-wmf.5 apparently without any issue # T220730

Aklapper added a comment.EditedMay 16 2019, 2:06 PM

T223446 might be another blocker candidate, not sure how widespread the problem is so I didn't mark it as blocker

hashar closed this task as Resolved.May 17 2019, 3:27 PM
hashar added subscribers: dcausse, matthiasmullie.

It went mostly fine, although there are some issues I have not caught in due time:

And thanks @Jdforrester-WMF for the various triages/feedback etc.