In case the user has the appropriate rights on the source wiki, it most of the time would make sense to delete the source wiki file right away. However, there are some cases where even users with appropriate rights would want to keep a local copy, e.g. when they want to add a "keep local copy" template.
- If users have the right to delete files from the source wiki, change the "Source wiki info" section to say the following:
You have the rights to delete the file on the source wiki. If you want the FileImporter to delete the file in your name, select this option:
- delete file on source wiki in my name
- The checkbox is by default unchecked
- If the user checks the checkbox, i.e. wants to have the source file deleted, delete the source file in the name of the user. The edit summary should say This file is now on Wikimedia Commons (moved with FileImporter).
- If the move was successful, show the usual success message on the target wiki file
- If the move was not successful, show the yellow error message, but with this message: The file has been successfully imported to <target wiki name>, but the file could not be deleted automatically on <source wiki name>. Please return to [[the original file]] and delete it manually. [original file is link to source wiki]
- This should all work as similar as possible to the workflow when adding a template. The only difference we make is the default behavior of the checkbox, as deleting is a "harsher" step to take
- There would probably a check necessary for user rights