Page MenuHomePhabricator

Turn off by default "Warn me when I leave an edit page with unsaved changes" option
Open, Needs TriagePublic

Description

This option, creating a blocking alert "Leave site? Your changes can be lost!" when you follow a link from edit preview window, still enabled by default, it's senseless and uncomfortable (needed to disable it in every project). What browser in 2019 doesn't save text fields content when you follow some link and returns back? All mainstream browsers can do it for many years.

Event Timeline

MBH created this task.Sat, Aug 24, 4:39 AM
Restricted Application added subscribers: Base, Aklapper. · View Herald TranscriptSat, Aug 24, 4:39 AM

@MaxBioHazard You maybe can disable it for all wikis via https://meta.wikimedia.org/wiki/Special:GlobalPreferences Regards.

MBH added a comment.Sun, Aug 25, 6:49 AM

I know, but the rest that I wrote remains valid. Why is this annoying warning needed, if any browser, used in 2019, saves text fields content?

In T231126#5435891, @MaxBioHazard wrote:

Why is this annoying warning needed, if any browser, used in 2019, saves text fields content?

@MaxBioHazard: I guess because neither you nor anyone else have yet checked if literally all and every browser and browser version supported by MediaWiki saves text fields content "in 2019". Would you like to do that?

MBH added a comment.Mon, Aug 26, 4:01 PM

I'll test this in the coming days. Except Safari and iOS broswer, 'cause I don't have Apple devices.

SerDIDG added a subscriber: SerDIDG.Sun, Sep 1, 2:15 AM

This is bad idea, because notification appears not only on page leave but also on close tab or browser window. No one browser of 2019 saves their state on exit.

MBH added a comment.Sun, Sep 1, 2:30 AM

I checked last release versions of Chrome, Firefox, Opera, IE11, Edge and Android 6 default browser; all of it saves changes in text field in edit mode. Other user confirms for me, that desktop Safari and iOS browser do the same.

No one browser of 2019 saves their state on exit.

Wrong. Chrome saves changes in text fields content even on PC cold reset (electricity turning off).

Wrong. Chrome saves changes in text fields content even on PC cold reset (electricity turning off).

Nope, you must enable "continue where you left off" option in chome settings at first.

Izno added a subscriber: Izno.Mon, Sep 9, 3:26 AM

Some of us use VE. Did you check in VE also?