Files uploaded before UploadWizard would auto-generate a file "comment" based on the file text.
If the file text is later revision deleted or oversighted due to containing personal information, this comment cannot be changed without uploading a new version. It does not make sense that you cannot hide the original upload file.
File for example: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Huntley_Photography_225.JPG
Screenshot for specific context: