Page MenuHomePhabricator

No confirmation dialog when user selects to switch or exit out of Add image suggestion mode
Closed, InvalidPublicBUG REPORT

Description

List of steps to reproduce (step by step, including full links if applicable):

  1. Open a suggested add image task

2a. Go to the editor dropdown and switch the editor mode to Visual Editor
OR
2b. Close the task using the close icon on the top left of the Suggested editor toolbar.

What happens?:
After 2a. --> the user is switched to the Visual Editor mode straightaway
After 2b. --> the user is switched to the Reading mode of the article straightaway

What should have happened instead?:
In both 2a and 2b, the user should see a confirmation dialog first (per T269653)

Software version (if not a Wikimedia wiki), browser information, screenshots, other information, etc.:
cs beta
test wiki

Event Timeline

This is expected since the warning is only shown when there are unsaved changes, per this original requirement:

When the user selects the visual mode, they will get a modal that asks them to confirm they want to leave machine suggestions mode if they have unsaved changes regardless of whether useeditwarning preference is set. If they leave machine suggestions mode, their progress will be lost and unrecoverable.

RHo added a subscriber: Tgr.

This is expected since the warning is only shown when there are unsaved changes, per this original requirement:

When the user selects the visual mode, they will get a modal that asks them to confirm they want to leave machine suggestions mode if they have unsaved changes regardless of whether useeditwarning preference is set. If they leave machine suggestions mode, their progress will be lost and unrecoverable.

Ah yes thanks, @Tgr also pointed this out in an off-Phab discussion, so I have created a new task T300582 to discuss instead.