Page MenuHomePhabricator

Mysterious "named" user group
Closed, ResolvedPublicBUG REPORT

Description

List of steps to reproduce (step by step, including full links if applicable):

  • Go to your Preferences. (Special:Preferences)

What happens?: You would be a member of a mysterious user group "named".

What should have happened instead?: Without that. And also, if you go to Special:UserRights instead, this bug would not occur.

Software version (if not a Wikimedia wiki), browser information, screenshots, other information, etc.: I've reproduced the bug on Chinese Wikipedia, Meta-Wiki, MediaWiki wiki, etc., even Wikitech, which is not a part of Wikimedia Unified login.

Event Timeline

Change 789603 had a related patch set uploaded (by Tim Starling; author: Tim Starling):

[mediawiki/core@master] Suppress "named" group when TempUser system is disabled

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/789603

Change 789604 had a related patch set uploaded (by Tim Starling; author: Tim Starling):

[mediawiki/core@master] Add messages for the "named" user group

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/789604

tstarling added a subscriber: tstarling.

The first patch addresses the added group, the second patch hopefully addresses its mysterious nature. The group refers to regular users, who are neither "temporary users" (as anonymous users are termed in the IP masking product design) nor traditional anonymous users. Such users named in the sense that the user chose their own name; non-anonymous.

I see. Thanks for the explanation. Does the related change happened recently though? Since I can't remember encountering the bug even as late as just a week ago.

Yes, it's a recent change. Note that there's no train scheduled next week, so if you want this fixed in less than two weeks, I will have to backport it.

Change 789603 merged by jenkins-bot:

[mediawiki/core@master] Suppress "named" group when TempUser system is disabled

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/789603

Change 789604 merged by jenkins-bot:

[mediawiki/core@master] Add messages for the "named" user group

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/789604

Fixed in Beta Cluster, I will try the backport to wmf/1.39.0-wmf.10.

How is it different from the "user" group, which are also registered users?

Note if the "user" group will contain temporary account in the future, this should be communicated with community, as some wikis disabled anonymous article creation.

Change 789332 had a related patch set uploaded (by Stang; author: Tim Starling):

[mediawiki/core@wmf/1.39.0-wmf.10] Suppress "named" group when TempUser system is disabled

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/789332

Change 789333 had a related patch set uploaded (by Stang; author: Tim Starling):

[mediawiki/core@wmf/1.39.0-wmf.10] Add messages for the "named" user group

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/789333

Ericliu1912 changed the task status from Open to In Progress.May 5 2022, 4:30 PM
Ericliu1912 triaged this task as Low priority.

Change 789332 merged by jenkins-bot:

[mediawiki/core@wmf/1.39.0-wmf.10] Suppress "named" group when TempUser system is disabled

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/789332

Change 789333 merged by jenkins-bot:

[mediawiki/core@wmf/1.39.0-wmf.10] Add messages for the "named" user group

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/789333

Mentioned in SAL (#wikimedia-operations) [2022-05-05T20:51:28Z] <brennen@deploy1002> Started scap: Backport: Revert: [[gerrit:789333|Add messages for the "named" user group (T307675)]] and Backport: [[gerrit:789332|Suppress "named" group when TempUser system is disabled (T307675)]]

Mentioned in SAL (#wikimedia-operations) [2022-05-05T21:03:22Z] <brennen@deploy1002> sync-world aborted: Backport: Revert: [[gerrit:789333|Add messages for the "named" user group (T307675)]] and Backport: [[gerrit:789332|Suppress "named" group when TempUser system is disabled (T307675)]] (duration: 11m 53s)

Mentioned in SAL (#wikimedia-operations) [2022-05-05T21:05:11Z] <brennen@deploy1002> Synchronized php-1.39.0-wmf.10/includes/user: Backport: Revert: [[gerrit:789332|Suppress "named" group when TempUser system is disabled (T307675)]] (duration: 00m 50s)

Mentioned in SAL (#wikimedia-operations) [2022-05-05T21:35:21Z] <brennen@deploy1002> Synchronized php-1.39.0-wmf.10/includes/user: Backport: [[gerrit:789332|Suppress "named" group when TempUser system is disabled (T307675)]] (duration: 00m 48s)

Stang raised the priority of this task from Low to Needs Triage.
Stang removed a project: Patch-For-Review.

Deployed. @Bugreporter You could open another task for your question.

How is it different from the "user" group, which are also registered users?

The "user" group will contain temporary accounts.

Note if the "user" group will contain temporary account in the future, this should be communicated with community, as some wikis disabled anonymous article creation.

Noted.

@tstarling what is a "temporary account" in this context? Is that just a not-logged-in user? (i.e. accounts that currently only get permissions that are in the '*' group? - and very specifically not ones that are also in "Users")? Why force them in to this established group that could have all sorts of things associated with it on projects instead of doing the opposite of this? (i.e. make the non-registered accounts be identified as being in a "Guest users" or the like group)?

@tstarling what is a "temporary account" in this context?

See T300263.

Is that just a not-logged-in user? (i.e. accounts that currently only get permissions that are in the '*' group? - and very specifically not ones that are also in "Users")?

No.

Why force them in to this established group that could have all sorts of things associated with it on projects instead of doing the opposite of this? (i.e. make the non-registered accounts be identified as being in a "Guest users" or the like group)?

Because they have a non-zero user ID, and so can technically do things that anons are unable to do due to schema limitations, like upload files. Since they are logged-in users from the backend point of view, it made sense to me to put them in the "user" group.

Ah OK, suppose over all - and by project, a review of the permissions currently extended from (all) to (Users) may be needed? For example the "changetags" or the "upload" permission you mentioned - is not part of (all) on many projects (or even by default?). Perhaps all of the permissions in "Users" that are not in "All" should be removed and moved to "named" to maintain consistency? Is there a different task open to track such?

make the non-registered accounts be identified as being in a "Guest users" or the like group

I think this could still be done if the product folks asked for it. Nothing really depends on the named group right now.