Page MenuHomePhabricator

[betalabs-mobile] Publishing edits from source editor re-opens page in editing mode
Closed, ResolvedPublic

Description

Found when testing T305543: Verify Growth editing workflows on mobile.

  1. On mobile go to an article and open the source editor.
  2. Make an edit and click "Publish changes"

The page will re-load several times; the page will be re-opened in the source editor and the publish success message will be displayed on the page

Note: Editing and publishing edits in the deskop mode won't have the issue described above.

Below are two screen recordings for comparison:

betalabstestwiki wmf.12
source_editor reload.gif (702×351 px, 286 KB)
source_editor reload2.gif (702×351 px, 177 KB)

Event Timeline

Change 798726 had a related patch set uploaded (by Esanders; author: Esanders):

[mediawiki/extensions/MobileFrontend@master] Follow-up I97c27fd7: Fix after-edit reload in source editor

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/798726

Will need backporting to wmf13

Change 798726 merged by jenkins-bot:

[mediawiki/extensions/MobileFrontend@master] Follow-up I97c27fd7: Fix after-edit reload in source editor

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/798726

Change 798811 had a related patch set uploaded (by Bartosz Dziewoński; author: Esanders):

[mediawiki/extensions/MobileFrontend@wmf/1.39.0-wmf.13] Follow-up I97c27fd7: Fix after-edit reload in source editor

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/798811

Change 798811 merged by jenkins-bot:

[mediawiki/extensions/MobileFrontend@wmf/1.39.0-wmf.13] Follow-up I97c27fd7: Fix after-edit reload in source editor

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/798811

Mentioned in SAL (#wikimedia-operations) [2022-05-24T21:56:50Z] <cjming@deploy1002> Synchronized php-1.39.0-wmf.13/extensions/MobileFrontend: Backport: [[gerrit:798811|Follow-up I97c27fd7: Fix after-edit reload in source editor (T309068)]] (duration: 00m 48s)

Has this issue been resolved?

Yes. Sorry, I marked it as a deployment blocker when I wasn't sure whether I'll be able to backport the fix, and I forgot to remove it afterwards.

Yes. Sorry, I marked it as a deployment blocker when I wasn't sure whether I'll be able to backport the fix, and I forgot to remove it afterwards.

No problem. Thanks for the info.