This is mostly a UX problem. toolforge users do not need to know that their jobs were updated only on the runtime or storage.
It's only useful to us.
For more context see https://gitlab.wikimedia.org/repos/cloud/toolforge/jobs-api/-/merge_requests/288#note_200981