Page MenuHomePhabricator

After removing your own UserRights, you get an error message "You do not have permission to do that"
Closed, ResolvedPublic

Description

When you change a user's rights using Special:UserRights/UsernameXXX, you returns to Special:UserRights/UsernameXXX. There is no indication that anything has changed, except for check marks by the new groups, and a new item in the log.

Suppose the user UsernameXXX modifies his own userrights and saves. He is brought back to Special:UserRights/UsernameXXX.

However, if he has removed his own admin rights and no longer has userrights priveleges, then upon returning to the page, he is presented with an error: "You do not have permission to do that, for the following reason: Your account does not have permission to add or remove user rights."

Since he *just* clicked the button to modify his own userrights, and has recieved no affirmation of that, he becomes confused because it very much seems like he has failed to remove his own rights.

Can we add a confirmation page of some sort to avoid these situations?


Version: 1.19.6
Severity: enhancement
See Also:
https://bugzilla.wikimedia.org/show_bug.cgi?id=58492

Details

Reference
bz48609

Event Timeline

bzimport raised the priority of this task from to Lowest.Nov 22 2014, 1:16 AM
bzimport set Reference to bz48609.

But what exactly is confusing about the message?

I propose WONTFIX for this. Rare cornercase, plus people should think for a short moment about the consequences if they really want to remove rights from their own account.

(In reply to comment #1)

But what exactly is confusing about the message?

I propose WONTFIX for this. Rare cornercase, plus people should think for a
short moment about the consequences if they really want to remove rights from
their own account.

  1. Click button
  2. Receive no confirmation message
  3. "You do not have permission to do that, for the following reason: ..."

You see *no* potential for confusion in inexperienced users?


Note that I say "inexperienced". I will concede that this would probably be a corner case on a wiki like Wikipedia, for example, where only the most trusted, experienced users would have the necessary userrights, and they would very rarely find themselves in a position to self-demote.

But I frequent Wikia more than I do Wikipedia, and on Wikia it is more of an issue. By default, end users of Wikia only have three user rights available to promote: sysop, bureaucrat, rollback.

Newbie users will create silly duplicate wikis about Pokémon, for example, and in a fit of enthusiasm promote random Wikians they meet who have zero edits on their wiki to admin+bureaucrat.

This can interfere with other aspects of Wikia (like adoption), so the user (who may be very inexperienced himself) goes to UserRights to demote himself, uninterested in the wiki, and finds himself in the trap I described.


As a last word, I take issue with your wording about consequences: you seem to be implying they'll jump the gun and regret it afterwards, which is not the issue being discussed.

Building on my last comment, I should clarify that the silly Pokémon wiki is a tad of a corner case itself, but emphasize that self-demotion is a much more prevalent occurrence in general when we are discussing wiki farms.

I'm an experienced user, and I have found myself auto-demoting for various reasons, and even I have been confused by the message.

Related URL: https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/66383 (Gerrit Change I4f42713ccec647b1d6ff11c2714d645973750579)

Change merged.

Very late, but - let me provide an example of this bug in action, to retroactively justify its fix. Note that Wikia uses an old version of Mediawiki.

http://community.wikia.com/wiki/Thread:574680#34

User goes from "bureaucrat" to nothing and cannot read the page, gets confused.