Page MenuHomePhabricator

VisualEditor: Globally-blocked logged-out users are not blocked from using VE (just from saving); should instead show the relevant global block message
Closed, ResolvedPublic

Description

Screenshot

Blocked IP addresses can see the VisualEditor, use it, and are presented with the error in the screenshot when saving.

Reporting distinctly from bug 52004 because the error message and use case are both somewhat different.


Version: unspecified
Severity: normal
See Also:
https://bugzilla.wikimedia.org/show_bug.cgi?id=52004

Attached:

Details

Reference
bz53009

Event Timeline

bzimport raised the priority of this task from to Normal.
bzimport set Reference to bz53009.

Change 127840 had a related patch set uploaded by Alex Monk:
Show notice if user is globally blocked

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/127840

That error message that you do get on saving is also a bug of it's own, patched in Gerrit change 127835

Change 127840 merged by jenkins-bot:
Show notice if user is globally blocked

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/127840

As with the normal local block bug, I'm going to mark this as fixed. We don't block the user from using VE, but there is now a notice warning them when they open VE.

It would be difficult to get all the useful info into some smaller alert() message or similar. Though after thinking about it a bit more we could perhaps use a small VE dialog or something, I am open to suggestions of course - but perhaps that would be better to put in a more general "not able to edit page due to protection/block/etc. dialog error" as this patch simply brings global blocks into line with normal blocks, protection etc.