Page MenuHomePhabricator

In Beta, opening and closing "This page has some issues" from the preview overlay causes your edit to be lost
Closed, ResolvedPublic

Description

Steps to reproduce:

  1. Log into http://en.m.wikipedia.beta.wmflabs.org/ and switch to Beta mode
  2. Go to http://en.m.wikipedia.beta.wmflabs.org/wiki/This_page_has_issues and click the edit button
  3. Make an edit and click continue
  4. From the preview screen, click on "This page has some issues"
  5. Click through the alerts
  6. Close the issues overlay by clicking the close button

Expected result: You're back at the preview screen with your previous edit intact

Actual result: You're back at the preview screen and your edit has been lost due to an API reload.

The problem does not appear to happen in stable.


Version: unspecified
Severity: normal

Details

Reference
bz58304

Event Timeline

bzimport raised the priority of this task from to Needs Triage.Nov 22 2014, 2:41 AM
bzimport added a project: MobileFrontend-beta.
bzimport set Reference to bz58304.
bzimport added a subscriber: Unknown Object (MLST).
kaldari created this task.Dec 11 2013, 1:32 AM

bingle-admin wrote:

Prioritization and scheduling of this bug is tracked on Mingle card https://wikimedia.mingle.thoughtworks.com/projects/mobile/cards/1495

What's actually going on is a bit different than what I thought. When you close the Issues overlay, it's not actually losing your edit, it's just spawning a new EditorOverlay over the previous one, so you just can't see your old edit or get to the correct save button since they are hidden underneath.

This also explains why the number of issues increases each time you open the Issues overlay.

Change 102286 had a related patch set uploaded by Kaldari:
Avoid using router for Issues overlay when we are in Editing overlay

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/102286

Change 102286 merged by jenkins-bot:
Avoid using router for Issues overlay when we are in Editing overlay

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/102286

After applying this patch I still see the confirmation "Do you really want to abandon your edit?" when clicking in preview this page has issues. If I exit and close again, and now leave the editor I see a confirmation message for every time I closed the edit "Do you really want to abandon your edit?"

Not closing this bug until we fix the misleading abandon issue problem.

Actually I'll open a new bug so it is not confusing...

See bug 58718