Page MenuHomePhabricator

hide MediaWiki:Previewnote when "Show preview before edit box" is disabled
Open, LowPublic

Description

example

Although I see the editform on top of the page when clicking "Show preview", below the editform there is a rather large, red and bold warning box saying "Remember that this is only a preview. Your changes have not yet been saved! → Go to editing area".


Version: 1.24rc
Severity: enhancement

Attached:

Details

Reference
bz64963

Event Timeline

bzimport raised the priority of this task from to Low.Nov 22 2014, 3:22 AM
bzimport set Reference to bz64963.
bzimport added a subscriber: Unknown Object (MLST).
FDMS created this task.May 6 2014, 6:24 PM

What's the bug? The message is totally relevant.

FDMS added a comment.Jan 5 2017, 4:46 PM

What's the bug? The message is totally relevant.

It's relevant when the editing area is located way down at the end of the page, not when it's directly above the message.

The message tells you that it's a preview, and that's true. Please clarify what's wrong with it and what would be the expected message.

FDMS added a comment.Jan 5 2017, 11:54 PM

As I explained, the message may be helpful when the editing area is located way down at the end of the page, not when it's directly above the message. What's wrong with it is that when the latter is the case, it's not helpful. Messages that are not helpful unnecessarily clutter up the interface, which I consider a bad thing. Given that the current message is not helpful the expected message would probably be no message at all.