Users are requesting a "Cancel and exit without saving" option
Open, NormalPublic

Description

In the last couple of months, I've seen about half a dozen requests for the 'cancel' button to be returned (yes, the same Cancel button that almost no one was using when it was present). These requests are usually from new editors.

The toolbar is cluttered, and redesigning it (e.g., so that it can be zoomed in without eating half the screen) is probably not going to result in such dramatic space saving that this almost-unused button would be worthwhile. However, what about an escape clause under the Help menu, or next to the "Switch to source" item in the Page options menu?

Whatamidoing-WMF updated the task description. (Show Details)
Whatamidoing-WMF raised the priority of this task from to Needs Triage.
Whatamidoing-WMF added a subscriber: Whatamidoing-WMF.
Krenair added a subscriber: Krenair.Jan 1 2015, 5:13 PM
Ryasmeen triaged this task as Normal priority.Jan 15 2015, 2:12 AM
Ryasmeen set Security to None.
Ryasmeen moved this task from To Triage to Backlog on the VisualEditor board.Jan 15 2015, 2:16 AM
Elitre added a subscriber: Elitre.Sep 22 2015, 3:08 PM

I can confirm, that new users have issues leaving the edit mode. Couldn't we just have an option to turn on/off the cancel button?

I don't think that an option will help.

I think the "unsaved changes hav been automatically recovered" feature makes it more important to have an obvious way to safely abort/cancel an edit. Previously there was no consequence to how you aborted/cancelled (and there are many ways to do it) but now there is. If you "exit" the wrong way, you created "unsaved changes" that will reappear later and cause unintended problems.

DLynch added a subscriber: DLynch.Mar 14 2018, 1:50 AM

We’ve had an ongoing “let’s see if we can turn the Save button into a dropdown” task, and if we did this is another thing it’d be convenient to drop in there.

We've also talked about adding it to one of the existing menus, e.g., in the Help menu next to "Read the user guide" and "Leave feedback about this software".

I've been a few times now in this situation where unwanted changes were recovered.

Maybe it would make more sense to place this "cancel" button in context, just below the message: "Your changes have been recovered" => "Abandon/reload etc".?