Page MenuHomePhabricator

C8. Only change editor preference if the user makes a change with the editor
Closed, ResolvedPublic1 Story Points

Description

That way, it won't change if they just use VE for previewing.

Event Timeline

Mattflaschen-WMF raised the priority of this task from to Needs Triage.
Mattflaschen-WMF updated the task description. (Show Details)
Restricted Application added a project: Collaboration-Team-Triage. · View Herald TranscriptApr 2 2015, 4:40 PM
Restricted Application added a subscriber: Aklapper. · View Herald Transcript
Mattflaschen-WMF triaged this task as Normal priority.Apr 24 2015, 5:55 PM
DannyH set Security to None.Apr 27 2015, 6:10 PM
DannyH edited a custom field.
DannyH renamed this task from Only change editor preference if they make a change with the editor to Only change editor preference if the user makes a change with the editor.Jun 2 2015, 6:55 PM
DannyH renamed this task from Only change editor preference if the user makes a change with the editor to C8. Only change editor preference if the user makes a change with the editor.Jun 3 2015, 7:14 PM
DannyH raised the priority of this task from Normal to High.
Catrope claimed this task.Jun 3 2015, 7:51 PM

Change 215838 had a related patch set uploaded (by Catrope):
Only change editor preference if user makes a change

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/215838

Change 215838 merged by jenkins-bot:
Only change editor preference if user makes a change

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/215838

If no changes are made with the editor - the editor preference is not changed.

Testing scenario:

  1. a user has VE(or markup) mode for editing
  2. switch to markup(or VE) - do not do any editing
  3. click on 'Cancel' or 'Save changes'
  4. re-login and check if the editor preference is changed

Checked for the following cases

preview modeclicked onresult upon re-login
markupCancelstayed in VE
markupSave changesstayed in VE
VECancelstayed in markup
VESave changesstayed in markup
Risker added a comment.Jun 8 2015, 6:36 PM

Hello Etonkovidova - your chart is not matching my situation. I use markup by default (i.e., I have VE disabled at present) - this is the choice I make in my personal editing preferences. But when I am using a browser that supports VE, the default editing option I get for Flow is VE, not markup. It should be markup, with the option to toggle to VE.

As well, even when I am editing in markup, when I preview and then return to editing, I am always switched to VE instead of returning to markup. This is consistent whenever I am using a browser that supports VE.

Etonkovidova added a comment.EditedJun 8 2015, 6:47 PM

Risker: I checked the scenarios you described

  1. disabled VE in Preferences. Then, when I go to Talk pages, they still have VE enabled for editing - yes, it still is happening. I'll discuss it with the team if it's an issue.
  1. The following issue has been fixed in beta testing environment.

even when I am editing in markup, when I preview and then return to editing, I am always switched to VE instead of returning to markup

For #1 - VE features on Flow pages(with disabled VE editor user preference) in fact, serve as a preview.

DannyH added a comment.Jun 9 2015, 1:24 AM

Works on Beta

DannyH closed this task as Resolved.Jun 9 2015, 1:25 AM