Feb 9 2018
I second this. I find it vexing that the options to preview and review changes are only available after pressing a button that says "Publish changes", not in the least because in other viewing modes (e.g. from the preview or review changes modes) pressing the button "Publish changes" will actually and immediately publish your changes. It's disturbing that the user has to click a button saying "Publish changes" to get to a function that's essential to use *before* publishing changes. It always makes me hesitate, fearing that pressing it may not allow me to make changes before it's final.
I came here just for this after too often accidentally publishing an incomplete or undescribed edit. It's really frustrating to me as a user that it's not easily possible to see if pressing the "Publish changes" button will take me to an intermediate step allowing review and description or if it will publish the changes immediately.