The introductory dialog for VE is supposed to be seen only once per person. However, it seems that the way it is hidden for users is dependent on session information, probably a cookie?
This means that every time I clear my cookies, open an incognito browser window, use a new browser, or use a new device, I get the intro again. Even if I'm using the same account. This stinks.
In GuidedTours we solve this problem (not showing users repeated intro tours across devices/sessions) by setting a hidden preference when someone completes a tour. I'd like to suggest we do that for the VE intro, unless someone can think of a more elegant way to avoid this annoying behavior.