Overwriting a file loses new summary/description text
Open, LowPublic

Description

Author: ekim

Description:
When uploading a file, if you use the same name as an old file and overwrite it,
the old summary text is kept. At least a warning would be nice.


Version: 1.11.x
Severity: minor

Details

Reference
bz4636
bzimport added a subscriber: Unknown Object (MLST).
bzimport set Reference to bz4636.
bzimport created this task.Jan 17 2006, 2:30 AM
brion added a comment.Jan 17 2006, 3:55 AM

The problem is that the upload comment got overloaded as the initial text of
the description page, and that entry field got made bigger and bigger to
accommodate requests for more stuff.

Probably it should be separated into a standard one-line comment field and a
description field. The description field can then be in some way or other dealt
with explicitly (at least, hidden when you're telling it to overwrite an
existing file from the beginning).

robchur wrote:

*** Bug 9480 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***

  • Bug 10366 has been marked as a duplicate of this bug. ***

Thehelpfulonewiki wrote:

Problem still occurs - the comment is visible in the file history of the new upload, but you can still see the old comment at http://test.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Useraccount_not_created.png for example.

Jdforrester-WMF moved this task from Untriaged to Backlog on the Multimedia board.Sep 4 2015, 6:03 PM
Restricted Application added subscribers: Steinsplitter, Matanya, Aklapper. · View Herald TranscriptSep 4 2015, 6:03 PM

Add Comment