Page MenuHomePhabricator

Allow users to disable Page Curation's "I have unreviewed a page you curated" message
Open, Needs TriagePublic

Description

When a user unreviews a page, there is a dialog that allows them to type a message to the reviewer. But even if the box is left blank, a message is sent. It does not seem to be possible to unreview a page without unexpectedly and silently generating a talk page message.

In comparison, the similar functionality for sending messages to page creators on review doesn't place a message if the reviewer opts not to type anything.

See:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:Page_Curation/Suggested_improvements#37._Page_Curation_messages

Event Timeline

joeroe created this task.Sep 17 2018, 6:19 AM
Restricted Application added a project: Growth-Team. · View Herald TranscriptSep 17 2018, 6:19 AM
Restricted Application added a subscriber: Aklapper. · View Herald Transcript
Bazj added a subscriber: Bazj.Oct 18 2018, 7:29 PM

The best solution would simply to have a little check box show up there when ureviewing with "notify previous reviewer?" and a text field to fill in. It should probably be unchecked by default as most reviewers regard this automated message as a nuisance. It could be useful for pointing out errors in reviewing however.

The main issue is that most people aren't even aware that they have sent it. The PC tools give no indication that a message was sent to the previous reviewer, and unless you check your contribs, you'll never know. Optionally, just get rid of the message entirely, as it is usually sent by mistake anyway.

I think the best possible solution would be to prevent a message from being sent when the textarea is empty. It just isn't intuitive for a message to be sent when there wasn't any user-action to explicitly trigger it.