Page MenuHomePhabricator

[Regression pre-wmf.24] Labels for "Minor edit" and "Watch page" checkboxes are missing after reloading the editor with unsaved changes
Closed, ResolvedPublic

Description

Steps to reproduce:

  1. Open VE
  2. Make an edit
  3. Reload the editor with unsaved changes
  4. Click on "Publish Changes"

Observe that the labels for Minor edit and Watch page checkboxes are missing on the save page dialog.

Event Timeline

Ryasmeen created this task.Mar 2 2018, 11:37 PM
Restricted Application added a subscriber: Aklapper. · View Herald TranscriptMar 2 2018, 11:37 PM
Deskana triaged this task as Normal priority.Mar 13 2018, 10:58 PM
Deskana moved this task from To Triage to Current work on the VisualEditor board.
Deskana edited projects, added VisualEditor (Current work); removed VisualEditor.
matmarex moved this task from Incoming to In progress on the VisualEditor (Current work) board.

Change 419955 had a related patch set uploaded (by Bartosz Dziewoński; owner: Bartosz Dziewoński):
[mediawiki/extensions/VisualEditor@master] Remember 'checkboxesMessages' when storing document state

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/419955

Change 419955 merged by jenkins-bot:
[mediawiki/extensions/VisualEditor@master] Remember 'checkboxesMessages' when storing document state

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/419955

matmarex closed this task as Resolved.Mar 16 2018, 9:38 PM
matmarex removed a project: Patch-For-Review.
Restricted Application added a project: User-Ryasmeen. · View Herald TranscriptMar 16 2018, 9:38 PM

Still present (on English Wikipedia, which is on wmf/1.31.0-wmf.26, which is shown to have that commit).

Changes were recovered in the editor.

But the change might have been saved before the fix (though it would be good to do at least 'watchthis' and 'minoredit' from core)

@Mattflaschen-Personal Right, the text of the messages to use is saved in session storage, together with the document and changes to recover, so they would still be missing for changes autosaved before we the fix was deployed. This is a bit unfortunate, but since session storage (and autosaved changes) is cleared anyway when closing the browser tab/window, I think this has already become a non-issue after a few days have passed since the deployment.