Page MenuHomePhabricator

Editing block warning appears only after i tried to save (for not-logged-in users)
Closed, ResolvedPublic

Description

So I discovered today that if a blocked user or IP address attempts to edit on the mobile version of Wikipedia, they will be allowed to edit the code, preview and put in an edit summary, before they are notified that they are blocked, and any work they have put in is lost. Not only that, the block notice in not clickable and it gives no reason why you are blocked and no method of appealing. If mobile editor is to become more popular as we are being told, this needs sorting out. Sent here from Village Pump.

Event Timeline

EoRdE6 raised the priority of this task from to Medium.
EoRdE6 updated the task description. (Show Details)
EoRdE6 added a project: Readers-Web-Backlog.
EoRdE6 added subscribers: TheDJ, Rdicerb, Aklapper.

Oh dear. Thanks for the heads up @EoRdE6. I suspect this is an oversight related to the anonymous editing change. Was the user anonymous at the time or logged in? cc @Florian @Nemo_bis

@Jdlrobson Anonymous at the time (thankfully I don't have a blocked account to test that).

Thank you so much for making this ticket @EoRdE6! Making sure this is on @Moushira's radar

If the user isn't logged in, the editor don't know, if the user is blocked from editing or not (it's a bit more difficult as it sounds because of another caching behavior for anonymous users), so we can't lock the edit pencil when the user isn't logged in and blocked from editing (it's like the desktop UI where you see the "Edit" button and when you click it you'll see the view source), as long as we don't make an Api call every page view, which would be terrible. But the editor shouldn't definitely check the permission for the current user, if the edit pencil is clicked. Let me look into it, how we can fix this.

Thanks @EoRdE6 for pointing this out!

Florian raised the priority of this task from Medium to High.Apr 17 2015, 5:42 AM

With the change following, you will see a toast notice with the information, that your account was blocked with the info who made this block and with which reason.

Change 204716 had a related patch set uploaded (by Florianschmidtwelzow):
Check, if the user is blocked from editing before try to save the edit

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/204716

Florian renamed this task from Mobile Web Block Warning to Editing block warning appears only after i tried to safe (for not-logged-in users).Apr 17 2015, 5:23 PM

@Florian Your screenshot says "You will not be able to safe your edit". Is that supposed to say " You will not be able to save your edit"?

@EoRdE6 You're right! My fault :) Thanks for the catch.

Nemo_bis renamed this task from Editing block warning appears only after i tried to safe (for not-logged-in users) to Editing block warning appears only after i tried to save (for not-logged-in users).Apr 17 2015, 10:17 PM

Change 204716 merged by jenkins-bot:
Check, if the user is blocked from editing before try to save the edit

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/204716

phuedx moved this task from Code Review to Done on the Mobile-Web-Sprint-45-Snakes-On-A-Plane board.
phuedx added a subscriber: phuedx.