Page MenuHomePhabricator

Side rail description using VE asks about saving changes while nothing was changed
Closed, ResolvedPublic

Description

  1. Go to https://www.mediawiki.org/wiki/Talk:Sandbox
  2. Click on "Edit description"
  3. Click "Cancel" button without editing anything.

Actual: Dialog box asks "You have entered text... are you sure you want to discard changes?"
Expected: I didn't edit anything so that shouldn't have happened..

Event Timeline

Glaisher raised the priority of this task from to Needs Triage.
Glaisher updated the task description. (Show Details)
Glaisher added a subscriber: Glaisher.
Restricted Application added a subscriber: Aklapper. · View Herald Transcript

You're using VE for that example, right (maybe because it's the default)?

Yep, this seems to be happening only when VE is enabled. Even if I switch to wikitext editor, while VE is enabled by default, this seems to occur.

DannyH renamed this task from Don't ask for saving changes while nothing was changed to Side rail description using VE asks about saving changes while nothing was changed.Jun 2 2015, 9:11 PM
DannyH triaged this task as Normal priority.
DannyH set Security to None.
DannyH moved this task from Untriaged to Near-Term Interest on the Collaboration-Team-Triage board.

Checked betalabs - with Ve enabled and with wikitext enabled as preferences.
The warning "You have entered text... are you sure you want to discard changes?" does not appear anymore.