Re-attach centralauth user Fuu5tgsrygr
Closed, ResolvedPublic

Description

https://meta.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?title=Special:CentralAuth&target=Fuu5tgsrygr

I think that the global account was deleted in error by @Savh. Please re-attach it so we can globally lock it, as it seems a cross-wiki abuse user. Filling privately so we don't WP:BEANS with him. I think there's a maintenance script in rECAU that can do this. Thanks.

Restricted Application added a subscriber: Aklapper. · View Herald TranscriptJan 10 2017, 12:41 PM
Savh added a comment.Jan 10 2017, 6:27 PM

I have no idea how that could have happened. I intended to lock the account, possibly skipped a button too far. My apologies for the mess.

Legoktm claimed this task.Jan 10 2017, 6:33 PM

Done. Once the account is locked I'll make this ticket public.

Thanks & locked. You can close / make public.

Restricted Application added a project: Security. · View Herald TranscriptJan 10 2017, 7:10 PM
matmarex changed the visibility from "Custom Policy" to "Public (No Login Required)".
matmarex closed this task as Resolved.
Savh added a comment.Jan 11 2017, 12:34 AM

Thank you, @Legoktm & @MarcoAurelio, for sorting this out. My apologies for messing up.

Savh added a subscriber: Einsbor.Jan 12 2017, 7:02 PM

It has happened again, now by @Einsbor. Account https://meta.wikimedia.org/wiki/Special:CentralAuth/Zlazstadpieroniebomiurwieszkabelodinternetu was deleted. Has something changed, or is this a coincidence? Btw, when would we need that option nowadays? Couldn't we place it somewhere less visible (or even disabling it?).

It has happened again, now by @Einsbor. Account https://meta.wikimedia.org/wiki/Special:CentralAuth/Zlazstadpieroniebomiurwieszkabelodinternetu was deleted. Has something changed, or is this a coincidence?

For that one I've just filled T155184

Btw, when would we need that option nowadays? Couldn't we place it somewhere less visible (or even disabling it?).

Not sure if we'd require being able to delete global accounts that much nowadays. If there's a chance that we'd need it, I'd say that we should keep the right, but that account deletion cannot be performed without a confirmation dialog as we can't reattach the accounts ourselves back.