Page MenuHomePhabricator

Confusing wording in message when session is no longer valid
Open, Needs TriagePublic

Description

The wording in the dialogue that you get when your session is no longer valid (see below) is quite confusing. The message contains a Yes/No-question ("Do you want to save this page as an anonymous user instead?"), but the options are "Dismiss" and "Try again". It's unclear what these buttons will do.

Steps to reproduce:

  1. Go to a page on https://www.mediawiki.org/.
  2. Click Edit.
  3. Change something.
  4. Log out while still having the edit open (e.g. in another tab).
  5. Submit changes.

Event Timeline

Restricted Application added a subscriber: Aklapper. · View Herald TranscriptMar 22 2018, 1:34 PM
Ammarpad added a subscriber: Ammarpad.

This is a VE bug. Maybe the buttons should be reworded to something like: No, I don't want and Yes, post with my IP as that's what they really do.

JTannerWMF moved this task from To Triage to Triaged on the VisualEditor board.
JTannerWMF added a subscriber: JTannerWMF.

The Editing team will take a look at this