Remove "Remember my login"-option from the preferences
Closed, ResolvedPublic

Description

In the User profile options in the preferences, we have the checkbox: "Remember my login on this browser (for a maximum of 30 days)"

Why ? Does anyone use that ? What's wrong with checkbox on the Login page ? Is it just that we don't persist the 'last' choice on the login page ?

Seems rather overkill to me, definitely clutters the preferences and possibly it is confusing to users ?


Version: 1.23.0
Severity: normal
See Also:
https://bugzilla.wikimedia.org/show_bug.cgi?id=67133

bzimport set Reference to bz52342.
TheDJ created this task.Via LegacyJul 31 2013, 7:59 PM
bzimport added a comment.Via ConduitJul 31 2013, 8:03 PM

swalling wrote:

Good call. The duplicate preference there makes no sense, and the contextually correct place to put this choice is on the login form.

01tonythomas added a comment.Via ConduitNov 9 2013, 1:27 PM

I would like to work on this bug. Please assign it to me.

gerritbot added a comment.Via ConduitNov 10 2013, 2:42 PM

Change 94614 had a related patch set uploaded by 01tonythomas:
Removed 'Remember my login' option from the Preferences page

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/94614

gerritbot added a comment.Via ConduitApr 17 2014, 5:02 PM

Change 94614 merged by jenkins-bot:
Removed 'Remember my login' preference

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/94614

Seb35 added a comment.Via ConduitApr 18 2014, 8:09 AM

Thanks a lot for stating and resolving this bug. I always found strange to see this preference depending of a cookie/local environment/browser.

gerritbot added a comment.Via ConduitMay 21 2014, 3:24 PM

Change 134615 had a related patch set uploaded by Krinkle:
Removed 'Remember my login' preference

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/134615

gerritbot added a comment.Via ConduitMay 21 2014, 3:34 PM

Change 134615 merged by jenkins-bot:
Removed 'Remember my login' preference

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/134615

Add Comment

Column Prototype
This is a very early prototype of a persistent column. It is not expected to work yet, and leaving it open will activate other new features which will break things. Press "\" (backslash) on your keyboard to close it now.