Page MenuHomePhabricator

Double deletion log in New Discussion Tool
Closed, ResolvedPublic

Description

Steps to reproduce

  1. Go to a previously deleted talk page with the New Discussion Tool enabled, e.g. https://meta.wikimedia.org/wiki/Research_talk:New_project?dtenable=1
  2. Notice the deletion log at the top of the page.
  3. Click Start a discussion.

Actual result

  1. Notice that the deletion log is presented once more in NDT’s edit notice area.
    NDT-double-dellog.png (706×1 px, 168 KB)

Expected result

  1. The deletion log is not shown at two places.

Open questions

  • 1. In what if any cases does the information contained within the edit notice differ from the information contained within the deletion log entry?
    • They have mostly the same content, but slightly different phrasing, to match the context change from viewing to editing
  • 2. For now, where should the deletion log information be shown? Within the tool?
    • Yes
  • What – if any – other cases should the decision we are making in this ticket impact (e.g. notice about user //not// being registered via @matmarex in T289354#7312789 )
    • We made the same change for that notice (r715249), we're not aware of any other cases

Event Timeline

Any reason not to just add it to the list-o-suppressed-notices? (So the second one in the new-topic widget won't show up.)

The notice is recreate-moveddeleted-warn.

We could also hide the original notice along with the "empty state" interface. I'm not sure if there are any cases where the edit notice might have more recent or more accurate info?

There's a similar scenario with the notice about user not being registered: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/User_talk:Asdudfmoaisudfbmdasdfasdf

image.png (2×3 px, 448 KB)

(This might become moot if we change how we handle those in the other ticket)

The disadvantage to hiding the original notice seems to be that it conceals information that people who don't want to add a topic might still want to see, with no indication that it'll be present before you click the button.

The notice within the widget does also contain the minor added "Warning: You are recreating a page that was previously deleted." text, which is probably relevant as a "are you sure?" prompt.

Sorry, I meant hiding it when you open the new topic tool, just like we hide the "empty state" interface when you do that.

Ahh, okay. I misinterpreted it as "hide it on pages where the empty state is showing", sorry. That sounds like a reasonable approach to me -- splitting the difference.

Change 715064 had a related patch set uploaded (by DLynch; author: DLynch):

[mediawiki/extensions/DiscussionTools@master] Hide the top-level warningbox when the new discussion widget is open

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/715064

DLynch moved this task from Incoming to QA on the Editing-team (Kanban Board) board.
DLynch added a project: Editing QA.
ppelberg updated the task description. (Show Details)

Change 715064 merged by jenkins-bot:

[mediawiki/extensions/DiscussionTools@master] Hide the top-level warningbox when the new discussion widget is open

https://gerrit.wikimedia.org/r/715064

Patch won't affect the user-not-registered case, as that's not a warningbox. (It's solely targetable as .mw-userpage-userdoesnotexist error, but it could easily be added in to the same behavior.)

Isn’t it possible that there are other .warningboxes that are not duplicated as edit notices, and thus temporarily completely hidden? Also, be aware that this class will be renamed (T270796).

Bartosz did some quick searching and didn’t turn anything up. However, worst case it’ll be the status quo for editing a talk page, I think — with “opening the new topic widget” standing in for “navigating to the source edit page”.

However, worst case it’ll be the status quo for editing a talk page, I think — with “opening the new topic widget” standing in for “navigating to the source edit page”.

That’s fair. Anyways, we should probably keep an eye out and fix cases where message boxes are not duplicated in edit notices if we find any. But it’s okay to do if/when we find such cases, don’t need to actively search them.

ppelberg claimed this task.
ppelberg added a subscriber: ppelberg.

As discussed during a team meeting this week, we decided to move forward with the approach to show people the deletion log entries before they open the new discussion tool and the edit notice after they open the New Discussion Tool because we assume:

  • The information contained within the deletion log entries is helpful to people deciding whether they ought to initiate the process for starting a new discussion
  • The information contained within the edit notice is helpful to people who are drafting a new discussion topic
  • Showing people both the deletion log entry and edit notices at the same time would be distracting

Note: the above is intended as a note to "our future selves" so we have a clear recollection for why we took this particular approach.