Publishing a translation is an important action that creates the Wikipedia article the user has been working on. We want to communicate clearly the different stages of the process. These are the aspects to support in each one (checkboxes are used to distinguish the aspects already supported from the pending ones):
|Before publishing||During publishing||After publishing|
- The "Publish" button is active when there is some content in the translation.
- The "Publish" button becomes "Publishing..." and becomes disabled.
- The contents (source and translation) are disabled. Users cannot modify or interact with them. They are shown at 60% opacity to communicate their disabled state.
- As part of the disabled interactions, the "+add translation" placeholder, paragraph/sentence highlight or other hover-based interactions should not be active.
- Disable publish settings while publishing, to make it clear that changes made such as the destination of the article are not considered for the current publication in progress.
- Only the tools that are relevant at the document level are shown, and they are shown as disabled (having no effect on the document).
- The auto-save label ("Saved X minutes ago") is cleared, to avoid sending conflicting messages.
- Content and tool become active again.
- The publish button will become "Publish" again.
- If publishing went successful, the publish button will remain disabled until the content is modified again.
- If publishing failed or warnings were shown, the publishing button will become enabled, allowing to try to publish again without the need for making further changes.
- Communicating the success (T188733) or problems after publishing is part of separate tickets.